drumtwister

single forward/mid/back

OK I'm a bit new to the idea to use a HDT to pull my 5th wheel but after finding this great forum it makes total sense to me. Especially considering I'm a heavy equipment/crane operator and have been driving everything you could possibly imagine down the road weather its 14ft wide to 100ft long and 16ft tall. So my question is what are your opinions as to where to place the rear axle? I realize fore and aft will make a difference turning that's obvious. I will fab the bed myself and may move the axle myself. In the future I would like to be able to put a smart car or a couple Harleys on back. Been leaning toward a newer Volvo 630. All the fab work I look forward to.

I have a 2004 630 and I'm singled short. I also carry a Smart car. I may have an advantage though over a lot of trucks. My front axle is 14,600 instead of 12,500. I keep forgetting my WB but I believe it is 218". I could measure if you really wanted to know.

Brad

To carry Smart single mid, it makes lots of things more "manageable" during the bed build (positioning and anchoring the chocks, anchoring the ramps, centering the winch, just to mention few things). Yea, there are workarounds that people have done to make it work with short singling, but why screw around when you can avoid it. And besides the whole thing looks better (more balanced) when done.

The major disadvantage to singling long is overloading the front axle. And you will overload it if you have a larger engine and carry much deck cargo. You can get away with it if you do not carry much.

Of course, IMO, it does not look very good, but some people prefer that look.

I would think the closer you position the drive axle to the front axle, the more you would be in danger of overloading the front axle. What am I missing?