Diesel Discussion........

I was reading in a non-RV forum when this post appeared about diesel trucks. It has lots of interesting observations and comments. I have NO background to judge the quality or veracity of the information. So I am posting a copy here and hoping you diesel experts chime in on his comments. I was particularly interested in the lubricity issue, water and others that directly relate to RV' travel. Thanks.

Diesel fuel is wunderbar. It costs much less to refine than gasoline. It produces more energy per gallon than gasoline. In Europe, where people are smart and energy prices are high, diesel vehicles outsell gasoline vehicles. But buying a modern clean diesel in the United States isn't as simple as putting fuel in it and changing the oil on time. Why?

As wonderful as diesel is, older formulations produced massive amounts of particulate emissions, a contributor to acid rain and other environmental threats. To clean up diesel fuel, legislators (in Europe mostly) started regulating the permissible sulfur content levels of diesel fuel. By reducing the sulfur in diesel, the particulate emissions from burning it decrease. But removing sulfur from diesel also reduces the fuel's lubricating properties.

Adequate lubrication is essential for the proper functioning of high pressure diesel fuel delivery systems. By removing the sulfur and therefore some of the lubrication from the fuel, components like the fuel pump and injectors suffer increase wear. Failure of fuel delivery components can be catastrophic as it can send shrapnel from the fuel pump throughout the engine. Worst case, that is a massively expensive repair.