Tire Recommendations for New Volvo 780

whatsnext

We are spec'ing out a Volvo VNL42T780. We plan to fulltime in a 44' coach and boondock (desert) about 30% of the time.

I need your opinions on what tire to get.

Volvo is suggesting (for fuel economy)

Steer: Bridgestone R283 Ecopia

Drive: Bridgestone M710 Ecopia

I have seen people lean towards Michelin XDE M/S but there does not seem to be a clear consensus. Probably a personal taste issue but I have no experience so pro's & con's would be great.

Mildly concerned with "tire noise" as well.

Thank you

2016 Volvo VNL780 D13 I-Shift

2016 DRV 44 Houston

2015 Smart Cabriolet

Wow another "new" truck buyer! Must be nice!

Enjoy!

Curt

2001 Freightliner Century, 500hp Series 60, Gen 2 autoshift, 3.42 singled rear locker.

2004 Keystone Sprinter 299RLS (TT)

2 & 4 Wheelers!

2013 Polaris Ranger 800 midsize LE

Our motto "4 wheels move the body, 2 wheels move the soul!"

Wow another "new" truck buyer! Must be nice!

Enjoy!

Curt

Hi Curt-

We are excited and terrified all at the same time! The tough part will be to write the check!!!! Not looking forward to that at all.

Thanks

David

2016 DRV 44 Houston

2015 Smart Cabriolet

David

Regional service tire is great for RV hauler use.

Fuel economy is not to be sneezed at but a lesser criteria for a RV Hauler.

Regional service gives a good balance between rolling resistance and scrubbing resistance, with a little tougher tire to handle the rigors of the RV lifestyle.

So, it really comes down to what you plan to do.

Drive tires all depend on where you plan to be and how much you plan to be there driving.

You have to choose whether or not to have different drive tires or go with an all position tire.

This depends on your intended use

We use all position Regional service tires all the way around.

Personal choice was Firestone 560plus

Regional service options might include some of these...