toy hauler for kayaks and bikes; or other options?

TBrase

First post since I am new to this discussion forum. This Forum has SO much information that I have just begun to explore. I've been reading 2 threads about full-timing it in a toy hauler and several threads on reviews of toy haulers.

My wife and I will be buying a 5th wheel in the next few months and full-timing it June 2015. I've retired from teaching and will be doing consulting work while on the road using an internet connection.

The first issue is buying a "5er" (sorry if I used that incorrectly, but am trying to pick up on the acronyms and lingo). We have kayaks and bikes so was planning on a 10' garage toy hauler. But after reading the comments here, I am second guessing that.

My question is: Are there other suggestions for hauling 2 kayaks, 2 bikes, and fishing equipment other than in a toy hauler? Kayaks won't fit in pickup bed; wife would like bikes inside or covered.

I just bought a 2014 Chev 2500HD Crew Cab with 6.6 diesel standard box.

Welcome to the forum. Couple of thoughts. Your truck will handle a medium size fifth wheel roughly in the 14k lbs to a max of maybe 16k lbs. so keep that in mind while shopping for a toy hauler. A lot of toy haulers have a built in aux fuel tank with a pump, pressure washer and a few other goodies that can pile up the weight. Eliminating these if not needed will help lighten it up.

I have seen kayaks on rigs of every description but mostly on roofs of RVs and trucks. If you are determined to get a fifth wheel then a toyhauler will work but you give up a lot of liveable space. I never could convince my wife that we needed a TH for that reason. As you can see in my signature I now have a motorhome but recently switched from a fifth wheel. We find the. MH works better for us as we can pull a pickup with our toys in and on the pickup.