Photo

How much solar do I need to keep truck batteries charged?

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 tyates007

tyates007

• Validated Members
  • 259 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 05:44 PM

I have never used solar power before but have read as much as I can find, which is a lot of conflicting internet info. Time has come to park the truck for the long Idaho winter. I will be getting it out occasionally to work on small projects. I would like to leave the batteries in the truck on a trickle charger or smart charger. Where I have the truck parked is enclosed with concrete floor and overhead door but there is not power. I have seen small solar kits for sale but have no idea what I would need to maintain the bank of 4 batteries. My wife bought me a 45 watt kit from the local HF store but I have never used it. Would 45 watt keep the batteries maintained? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Edited by tyates007, 03 November 2013 - 06:24 PM.

#2 Randy retired

Randy retired

Major Contributor

• Validated Members
  • 957 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 07:51 PM

I have a 33 watt panel on my truck and it keeps the batteries charged. In fact the batteries are usually fully charged by noon so you might get by with less. My truck is a 2001 and the newer models may use a little more power at rest but I would think 45 watts would be plenty providing the panels are not shaded. Snow needs to be removed.

Edited by Randy retired, 03 November 2013 - 07:54 PM.

Randy
2001 Volvo VNL 42 Cummins ISX Autoshift

#3 SuiteSuccess

SuiteSuccess

Major Contributor

• Validated Members
  • 1513 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 07:55 PM

Tyates007,