Replacing Fleetwood Ford Chassis Class Shocks

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 uclabruins

uclabruins

• Validated Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:21 PM

I'm totally new to RV'ing and recently purchased a 1997 Fleetwood Southwind Storm 34 with a Ford F53 chassis.

I took my first trip last weekend and it was quite a learning experience to say the least!

Anyway, I think the shocks need to be replaced. It bottoms out too often.

Can I search for the shocks based on the 97 Ford F53?

#2 Jim Seward

Jim Seward

• Validated Members
  • 261 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:05 PM

The Koni FSD shocks seem to work well on the Ford F53 chassis. We have them on ours and are very satisfied with the more comfortable ride they provide.

If interested, here's a link to their site: http://www.konirv.co...3 Super Duty V8

They are a bit expensive, but in my opinion, well worth the cost.

Good luck with your choice of shocks.. :)

Edited by Jim Seward, 05 September 2012 - 11:12 PM.

Jim & Sherry Seward
2000 Residency Mod. 3790
2003 Suzuki XL/7 4WD

#3 Jim Corey

Jim Corey

• Validated Members
  • 246 posts
  • SKP#:61539

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:07 PM

I'm in the same boat (make that situation :) ) with my 91 Southwind on the F53. Did the fronts, now need the rears. If it's a DIY project, crawl under and try to get a part number. Then you can shop for the correct replacement. On the front, I upgraded from OEM. Bilsteins, Koni gas shocks for example. Wasn't a hard job on the front. Just on a truck everything is big and heavy. You can't just use charts or tables. A lot depends on how the rig was constructed.
Jim (and Jean) Corey
2006 Monaco Monarch 30 pdd
'12 Honda CRV toad
(New photo is coming)

#4 Kevin H

Kevin H

Major Contributor

• Validated Members
  • 1084 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:11 PM