Towing with mid-size SUV?

tlc2454

Hello All,

I'm a recently retired woman eager to follow my RV'ing dream and currently shopping for a rig. I have lots of camping and RV'ing experience, but going it solo (just me and my pooch) is new to me.
I am considering a used mid-size SUV as a tow vehicle for a lightweight, up to 22 ft, travel trailer. My research says there are mid-size SUV's that will handle towing this load, but are the specs realistic, or am I being too optimistic about the capabilities of vehicles in this category? (V-6, 270-290 HP, 250-270 torque, towing capacity 5,000 lbs)
Whatever vehicle I get will be my only vehicle, and I really don't want to be driving a full-size SUV or big ol' truck
day-to-day if I can avoid it. But am I being realistic about a mid-size SUV being able to handle towing a trailer?
Any recommendations, advice or experiences to share about choosing a tow vehicle?

Welcome to the Escapees Forum!!!

Towing capacity is only one of the ratings that needs to be considered. Make sure that the hitch is rated for the weight to be towed. A travel trailer will put about 10% of its weight on the tongue of the vehicle. With the tongue weight, all the cargo, fuel, and passengers; the tow vehicle needs to be at or under its GVWR (Gross Vehicle Weight Rating) Axle ratings and tire ratings. Use the GVWR of the trailer when calculating tongue weight unless you know the actual tongue weight of the trailer fully loaded and ready to travel. There are some folks that recommend a specific safety margin like 80%. The tow vehicle and fully loaded trailer should not exceed the GCWR (Gross combined weight rating) of the tow vehicle.

The shorter wheelbase SUVs often have problems with trailer sway. The longer the trailer, the greater the chance of sway. This article gives some basic guidelines about the relationship of tow vehicle wheelbase and trailer length. A premium weight distribution/sway control hitch can do a lot to help control sway issues.