50 amp RV Power Pedestal Tester

alan0043

Hi Everyone,

I am in the planning stage to build a pedestal tester. I think that the pedestal tester might need to be part of the equipment that is needed for your truck and trailer. My question is, who are planning on building one ? I understand that there could be a building seminar at the '15 ECR for the tester. I have a few questions. Is there a need for the two spst (single pole single throw) switches ? I don't see where the switches are located in the tool box. Can someone point out what the switches are used for. The next question is, is there another way to create resistance than using water heater elements ? Electronics has always been a mystery to me. I am a real rookie when to comes to electricity.

Trying to understand the project,

Al

2012 Volvo VNL 630 w/ I-Shift; D13 engine; " Veeger "
  Redwood, model 3401R ; 5th Wheel Trailer, " Dead Wood "
    2006 Smart Car " Killer Frog "

Jim, Thanks for the link. I have my shopping list made. When I was making my shopping list is when the questions came to mind.

Al

Al,

I believe this might answer your question........

"All of the photos here are of the first version of the tester. The newer version
(no photos yet) has two additional switches as indicated in the schematic. This allows
for testing each leg individually. This will often cause a problem to show up that a
balanced load may not. So on the new version, you can energize the heating
elements on one leg while leaving the other leg live yet unloaded. The voltages
should still remain close to the same. Amperage should be 30 to 35 on one leg
and zero on the other. If the voltage goes UP on one leg and down on the other,
this indicates a problem that can cause serious damage to your rig and that
power pedestal should not be used"!
Steve made some changes in Tester 2.0
Scott

Wednesday April 15: