VPN on MAC and IPAd

So, I get a weekly email about Apple stuff and this past week they said everyone with a smart phone needs VPN. I had been thinking about this for awhile. I downloaded a program called "Hide My A$&." It was easy to do and it seems very simple. However, I have one problem. I use MAC's email program and I can't send email when I have the VPN turned on. I tried using their help but it seems above my pay grade. Anyone have experience with this and could help a guy out?

Don Kostyal

CMSgt, ret USAF

A Veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard or reserve - is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a check made payable to "The United States of America", for an amount of "up to and including my life."
Author Unknown

I'm no expert on the subject of VPN but my son travels internationally and first talked with me about it a couple of years ago. I had mentioned to him that I was using the free Wi-Fi services at campgrounds, restaurants, etc and he said, "not a good idea without a VPN". He told me most of the free VPN services were lacking in one aspect or another but there were some relatively inexpensive VPN services that did the job. After talking with him and doing some research, I settled on PIA, private internet access. I think the yearly fee is just under $40. If you go to tech bargains.com, it will sometimes show up there at a discount along with a couple of other VPN services. I have used PIA for two years now with my MacBook Pro, wife iPad and both iPhone 6's. I think you can access the service with up to five devices for the one time yearly fee. So far, so good with the service. Setting up the service on your devices can be challenging the first time around but their tech support via email is pretty good and quick. PIA doesn't seem to slow down the speed too much and allows connections all over the world. It does cover email along with internet browsing. I am sure others have more input that I do on Virtual Private Networks s