Question about "diesel monitoring system"

coachmac9

I have noticed a couple of these units for sale in another part of this site and was wondering what exactly does this "monitor" and is it worth the investment. I am new to diesel ownership and would like to hear from those who have experience with them. Thanks!

Here's my 2 cents. When we first started with our first (and only) RV we were green weenies (totally new to RVing). I added several gauges to the 2007 F350 to monitor the diesel, it seemed like the thing to do, When I replaced it with a 2014 F350 I considered additional gauges or a more compact monitoring system such as a Bully Dog. After several years towing all over the US and some of Canada I decided to forgo a monitoring system on the 2014 for a year. I have easily decided to add nothing to the new truck based on my experience and confidence in the truck. I believe this would apply to Ram or GM diesels also. Maybe the motorhome owners have a different opinion. Greg

Greg & Judy Bahnmiller
Class of 2007
2014 F350
2007 HitchHiker Champagne

Both sold 2/19, settled in Foley, AL after 12 years on the road

http://bahnmilleradventure.blogspot.com/

I agree they are neat to have, had aftermarket gauges in my modified Dodge CTD; but for a stock engine the are unnecessary. For instance, if the turbocharger pressure for the intake begins to fail, you will notice a drop in power-without a gauge. Now with a modified engine, to increase HP, exhaust temperature gauges are necessary to alert the driver before overheating the exhaust; 1,300*F is where the valves begin to melt, but a stock engine has been engineered to stay within design limits.

2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA ." And so, my fellow Americans: ask not what your country can do for you--ask what you can do for your country.  John F. Kennedy 20 Jan 1961