Flooded cell 12v battery rating label numbers

noteven

Need a hand deciphering battery capacity. My new to me rig has 2 new 12v flooded cell batteries that were supplied by the seller. My other rigs have had 2x T105 6v batteries in series - I am a 12v battery newbie.

I think they may be 200 amp hour batteries but I don't know what the labels mean. The battery labels have these numbers and words:

Part: DC27 - I think is Deep Cycle Group 27?

Rating (CA): 715

Rating(CCA): 575

Rating (RC): 200

What is my safe useable amp hours from these 2 batteries?

Thanks

"Are we there yet?" asked no motorcycle rider, ever. 

"Reserve Capacity (RC) is the number of minutes a fully charged battery at 80 o F (26.7 o C) is discharged at 25 amps before the voltage falls below 10.5 volts. To convert Reserve Capacity (RC) to Ampere-Hours at the 25 amp rate, multiple RC by .4167"

200 x .4167 is 83.74 amp-hours. Call it 85 amp-hours.

Note this is an approximation because amp-hours are measured at the rate it takes to discharge the battery over a 20 hour period while RC specifies a fixed 25 amp discharge. For an 85 amp-hour battery the C/20 rate is 4.25 amps.

https://www.pacificpowerbatteries.com/aboutbatts/deep%20cycle%20battery%20faq/dcfaq4.html

Lou is correct. If this is a new rig, I would try and see if your dealer would take those back and give you a credit toward an upgrade or toward other merchandise (ie., vent covers, hoses, etc). They sound like (with those stats) standard automotive type starter batteries and very ill suited for an RV.

Apples and oranges to the T105's you're used to.

If the dealer won't take them back for some type of compensation, personally, I would just use them for core exchange credit and pick up a couple of golf cart 6v batteries from your local costco or sam's club. Still not quite your T105's, but a cost effective alternative if you don't do much dry camping.

Hi Yarome -

Keep in mind I are a 'lectrical dummy.