Just Retired - Cabin Fever!

Capt Frank

Hi, my name is Frank and I'm penning my first post.

I've been an airline pilot for the past 36 years but was forced into mandatory retirement when I turned 65 last November. (I'll spare you my thoughts regarding a bunch of 70 & 80-year old congressman mandating that I can't work past 65.) Most of my career was spent flying international routes to destinations including China, India, Europe, the middle east and South America. My retirement flight was from Shanghai to Los Angeles on the Boeing 787 Dreamliner and after arriving home in Phoenix my four kids threw me a big retirement party. It was a fabulous life and I miss it sorely.

After five months of puttering around the house, playing golf, and managing my 401K I'm going bonkers. I love my home and I'm blessed to have a host friends and family here, but I'm just way to young to be sitting around waiting to kick the bucket! When I was a young man I would take my family camping in a tent trailer in the summer and I'd also use the trailer for my hunting trips in the fall and winter. Those experiences made me think that traveling in an RV would be a great thing to do when I retired. Well I can't just sit still any longer so I've decided to act on it! With my kids all grown this house is way more than I need as a single man, so I'm prepping it to sell and I'm going to buy a truck and 5th wheel and hit the road. I'm an avid photographer, with a special interest in astro photography and time lapse videos, so I should be able to keep myself sufficently entertained on my travels.

While I'm a bit taken aback by all I'm going to have to learn to make informed decisions, I'm looking forward to the challenge. I'm so happy to have stumbled onto this site and I look forward to picking your brains as I embark into this new chapter of my life!

Frank

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Frank,