5th-Wheel Hitch or Gooseneck ?

RV-Manni

Good morning

I am cosidering to buy a 40ft 5th Wheel (GVWR 16000 lbs). My truck is a 2015 Ford F-350 Dually, long bed with original Ford hitch prep.

Now for a RV-Greenhorn like me, there is the question either to go for a regular 5th-wheel hitch like a

CURT Q24 5th Wheel Hitch or better to go for the Andersen Aluminum Ultimate Connection Gooseneck.

Does anyone can tell his experiences. I'm grateful for any helpful hints.

Thank you

Manni

Manni

2016 Heartland Bighorn 3750 FL

2015 Ford F-350 SD Dually 4x4

Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Connection 2

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

IIRC, unless the trailer was designed as a gooseneck, converting a 5er hitch to a goose can put additional stress on the 5er's frame. I have no personal experience with this, just remember something I read.

This guy says doing it is not issue; http://daily-blog.rv-boondocking-the-good-life.com/2010/04/stirring-up-fifth-wheel-to-gooseneck.html

Couple folks here say they will never do it and others who say they have done it; http://www.rvforum.net/SMF_forum/index.php?topic=28607.0

Looks like no definitive answers.