Heater when boondocking

maggie blair

I am fairly new to Boondocking and I'm wondering if anyone could recommend an inside heater for my 26 foot class A motorhome? I have been running off of my batteries because my neighbors do not really want me to run the generator. Several of the people have made suggestions about an inside heater that connects into my propane tank but would not use my batteries. Does anyone out there in Escapee land know of any that they could recommend that might be better than others?

Maggie Blair

We use a blue flame heater manufactured by Mr Heater. It works great. Ceramic heaters are also popular. We use the blue flame as much as we can because it is much less expensive to operate. This said non vented propane heaters add moisture into the air. In the Arizona desert we have found this not to be a problem. On the other hand when up north in Alaska where the temperatures get colder the blue flame adds too much moisture so we switch to the furnace during the coldest parts of the day, i.e. night. Stay warm.

Later,

J

2012 Landmark, San Antonio

2013 Silverado CC, 3500HD, Duramax, DRW, 4x4

Backup, side and hitch cameras, Tireminder TPMS

We had an Empire. Another brand is Olympian.

We used ours for 16 years and would highly recommend one if you boondock a lot. They give a quiet, constant heat unlike a furnace. Since you have a 26' make sure you don't get a big one or it'll run you out of the RV.

We never slept with it and we like sleeping in a cold room. The first one up in the morning turns it on and in 10 minutes the RV is warmed.

Make sure you have a carbon monoxide monitor but ours never went off. If used correctly they are absolutely safe.

Full-timed for 16 Years
Traveled 8 yr in a 2004 Newmar Dutch Star 40' Motorhome
and 8 yr in a 33' Travel Supreme 5th Wheel