48" Sleeper too small for RV conversion?

CrazyCooter

Hey guys and gals,

I have been hanging around here for the past 9 years gathering info as we have wanted to make the jump up to an HDT toter. Back in 2006, it didn't make much sense as I kind of needed a new pickup anyway and we were only towing a 9K lb. 26' TT.

We have since traded up to the 40' 19-20K lb. toyhauler we have now and were traveling more than ever. Although it's doing the job, I'm feeling like the old Dodge 3500 isn't liking the 29-31K combined weight very well! Ive done everything I can do to help with stability, braking, and traction for this combo.....

Found an old singled and de-rated (26k GVW)1997 FLD120, series 60, Eaton Fuller 10 speed, 2.93 ratio, and 48" sleeper that the guy has used for his toter but is downsizing. Has all the stuff I think would be needed, but being in CA we have to go MH title for the CARB regs.......

This is not my ideal truck, but it has an air ride RV 5th wheel hitch and flat bed on it already, tires are good virgin rubber, recent injectors, air drier and a few other things I cant remember. My thought is that if it can be had for $5K, I could play with it for a while to decide if I want to invest in a "Nice" truck and if I can live without 4x4 for the majority of our travels. I could still use my Dodge for the local winter camping.

We don't really need a big condo sleeper as a person might sleep there on a long trip while drivingor just a quick overnighter, but need enough room for the proper equipment to get the RV title.

Is 48" enough? Shore power/inverter, micro, refer/icebox, portapoty in the closet?

1999 Peterbilt 385 C12 430/1650 13spd

2006 Dodge 3500 DRW 4x4

2010 Hitchhiker Champagne 36 LKRSB

CrazyCooter;

9 years? That's 3 federal EPA re rulings, who knows how many California rule changes.

9 years, you may want to think on it for awhile!