Estate Planning - Question about 'process agent'

We're finalizing our wills before we leave Livingston and, since I'm a (former) paralegal, I drafted the wills myself (in accordance with Texas law, of course). Our alternate executors are not Texas residents and, according to Texas law, in that event, we must designate a Texas resident/entity as a process agent. So, my question is: can Escapees act as the process agent and then forward whatever documentation is received to the alternate executor?

Thanks in advance!

Nancy (and Craig) Moore

XKP 120616

Class of '14

First of all, welcome to the Escapee's RV Club and to the club's forums! We will do all that we are able to assist and support you.

Not being an attorney, I really am not sure about that issue but know of no such service by the club. My suggestion is that you contact Shawn Loring, who is an attorney, a member of Escapees, and who willingly answers member's questions on legal and financial issues. I would prefer to send you to one who I am sure will give you a valid response.

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

I am a Texas resident and have been for more then 41 years. I have my and my BH wills set

so that we will avoid probate court. In Texas probate court where many wills go to be processed is very expensive.

They charge a % of the assets and that can be a lot. Good Luck

I believe Texas is one of the most economical states to "push up daises" in. When we had our wills drawn up 15 years ago the attorney at that time said it would only cost $150 to probate our "estate". I am sure the dollar amount and the property involved has an affect on probate.

Having a will solves a lot of problems for your survivors:
(Source: http://jonesandassociateslaw.com/2011/09/14/why_its_important_for_texas_residents_to_have_a_will/ )