HDT Acquisition Cost and Total Cost of Ownership

TheLongWayHome

I’m an HDT newbie. Plan to go full-time next year and still finalizing the RV and tow-vehicle decisions. I been in lots of the technical discussions on 5500/F-550 vs HDT. So, this is NOT a technical discussion on the merits of one over another. It’s an economics question. Yes, I have searched the HHRV Resource site and in particular http://www.hhrvresource.com/node/18 and this forum. Did not find anything related to total acquisition costs or total cost of ownership. If it’s there, my apologies and please point me in its direction.

The acquisition cost of a new 2017 RAM 5500 with air suspension, addition fuel tanks, hitch and an RV Hauler bed are in the range of $100-110K dependent on creature comforts and other features. Have found folks that keep spreadsheets and detailed cost of mileage, MPG, service, and all repair costs (TCO). Insurance and registration vary by state and driver.

But on HDTs it seems to be a bit more vague! I’ve ready the referenced websites and they contain some “handwave” estimates of “about the same as a 5500” (above), but not sure when that was and they lack any details on what is included in that. So there has to be a HDT spreadsheet guru among all the HDT engineering and technical types on this HDT forum.

So, for my planning and decision process, I’m trying to get a ball-park idea of the cost for the various HDT routes below. How much does it cost the get the RV hauler package – HDT configured for a small vehicle (Smart, SxS, Golf-cart) bed, the actual bed and RV hitch (32K GVWR, 7K pin). Then what does it take to run these HDTs on an annual basis (diesel, fluids, tires, parts, service, etc.)?