Size of Tow Vehicle

Cookie in Texas

My husband and I have been researching purchasing a truck and 5th wheel for the past 18 months or so.  We just think we get it figured out and then realize we don't.  

We thought we wanted a F350 diesel crew cab long bed, 4x4 SRW.  I'm very opposed to the dually.  We've owned and trailered horses with one.  Yes, it's a great towing vehicle but I really dislike going through the drive through, ATMs, parking in the city, etc, etc.  It's just so darn wide.

Then we thought we'd narrowed down the RV.  We both work online full-time.  So we decided on a bunkhouse model so we can use the bunkhouse as an office.  We'll also end up with a few allowable tax deductions which is always a benefit.  We thought two slides in the bunkhouse would be nice so we wouldn't be literally breathing down each others neck.  So the we really like are the Keystone Montana High Country 358BH which has a GVWR of 15,400.  

Now that I'm looking at the GVWR it looks too close for comfort.  It looks like the truck has a GVWR of 15,700.

Am I correct that we need to rethink this, either go with a smaller trailer or dually truck?  Thanks for your input.

Not sure what numbers you're looking at... Possibly the conventional tow ratings without the optional 10k tow package??

2017 F350 6.7 turbo diesel Crew Cab long box 4X4 SRW with the 3.55 gear ratio is actually only limited by the 5th wheel hitch rating of 18,000 tow capacity (goosneck is 20k) and has a GCWR of 28,200 "on the books".

If the High Country has a GVWR of 15,400, and your F350 has a GVWR of 11,500 for a total of ~27k. 100% maxxed out in your 5er and your rig... that puts you about 1.2k under your GCWR.

You've got 6k GAWR on the front axle... 7.2k on the rear. CCC around 4,970... and you'll have around 3-3.5k (max) with hitch and pin weight so... 1.4k~ish+ in reserve CCC (fuel, passengers, cargo, etc.).