Texas Motorhome Registration & Weight Certificate Requirement

tkcas

As a new TX resident I attempted to get my Monaco motorhome registered they told me I would have to have it weighed first. They said it was a State requirement - that they could not accept what was on my SD title and registration, or on the manufacturer weight placard.

I looked on the TXDOT website and found no such requirement. In fact, in the Motor Vehicle Registration Manual it clearly states that a motorhome is registered as a passenger vehicle and a weight certificate is only required if a weight DECREASE is being requested.

It seems to me the county tax office is misinterpreting the rules. I have written TXDOT for clarification. What have others found.

You might try again at a different tax office. If you get same response, give them the page number in the the manual you are quoting above. Also you might ask for a supervisor to clarify the information. If you have a laptop, bring it with you. Have the page you are quoted open and show it to them and politely ask them why there answer is different than what you found.

What county are you trying to register in?

Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G 
2020 Chevy Colorado Toad
San Antonio, TX

http://downtheroadaroundthebend.blogspot.com/

I just went to cat scales on an empty tank and got a 12.00 ticket. Easy.

2009 Volvo 780. D-16 500hp 1850 torque with a Herrin hauler bed.

2015 Continental Coach

2008 650cc Suzuki Bergman

2013 Mustang GT 500 convertible

2014 Smartcar convertible

WWW.Hollyfab.com. (Metal Fabrication Company)

Jamesc@hollyfab.com (preferred contact method)

Registration fee of this type of passenger vehicle is by weight, hence the need to submit a weigh ticket from a scale when registering for the first time to establish the fee. Weight can be adjusted but not lowered unless another weight scale ticket is submitted with a lower weight.

Fee Schedule

Edited by TreyandSusan